Connecticut State Library with state seal

New Fairfield

New Fairfield, Fairfield County,

Town established in May 1740

The New Fairfield Probate District was constituted January 8, 1975, from the Danbury Probate District.  The New Fairfield Probate District merged with the Brookfield and New Milford Probate Districts on January 5, 2011 to create the Housatonic Probate District which serves the municipalities of Bridgewater, Brookfield, New Fairfield, New Milford, and Sherman.

Town of New Fairfield, Probate District chronology:

May 1740 May 1744, Fairfield District

May 1744 January 7, 1975, Derby District

May 1787 October 1822,  New Milford District (covered the north society of town which became the Town of Sherman, October 1802

January 8, 1975 January 4, 2011, New Fairfield District

January 5, 2011 Present, Housatonic Probate District

The Connecticut State Library does not hold any original records from the New Fairfield Probate District.

For Probate Court contact informat    ion and hours of operation see, Probate Court Directory