Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:   Public Policy Page

Energy Use in Connecticut

Alternate Energy   Energy Efficiency   Connecticut Tax Holiday  Related Agencies/Organizations

The issue of energy in Connecticut is very important to the state’s constituents and economy. Much of the state’s economy hinges on access to energy resources. Connecticut residents rely on affordable, accessible heat and electricity. Since Connecticut produces little of its own energy resources such as oil or natural gas, energy transportation, transmission and use are key aspects in energy policy.
 

Subject heading searches

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to Energy Use, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Connecticut Energy Advisory Board
Connecticut. Dept. of Public Utility Control
Energy Consumption Connecticut
Energy Policy Connecticut
Energy Policy Connecticut Periodicals
Power Resources Connecticut
Public utilities -- Connecticut

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Energy Plan For Connecticut / prepared By The Connecticut Energy Advisory Board, 2004-2007
Connecticut Energy Policy Initiatives And Impact Of Federal Energy Legislation / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy, 2005
Decoupling Utility Sales And Earnings / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy, 2005
Energy Availability In Connecticut / Connecticut General Assembly, Legislative Program Review And Investigations Committee, 2002
Energy Management In State Facilities : A New Direction / prepared By The Office Of Policy & Management, Strategic Management Division : 2004
Energy Management By State Government : Findings And Recommendations / Legislative Program Review & Investigations Committee, Connecticut General Assembly, 2002
 

Electronic Journals
Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we’ll be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on Energy and Energy policy include :


Energy (Stamford, Conn. 1975)  
Energy & environmental management  
Energy & power management  
Energy
Energy journal (Cambridge, Mass.)  
Energy law journal  
Energy manager (Overland Park, Kan.)  
Energy network  
Energy news  
Energy report (Arlington, Va.)  
Energy user news
Oil & gas journal

Oil and Gas Business
Natural gas monthly (Washington, D.C.)

LNG Wire

 

Statistics

 

From State & Local Sourcebook, an overview of environment statistics on a variety of topics including alternative fuel stations.

 

 

(Top of the page)


Alternate Energy Sources

 

Subject heading searches
The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to Alternate fuels, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Alcohol As Fuel
Biodiesel Fuels
Biomass Conversion
Forest biomass -- United States
Fuel Cells
Hydroelectric Power Plants United States
Liquefied Natural Gas
Liquefied Natural Gas Shipping Terminals Long Island Sound
Methanol As Fuel United States
Ocean thermal power plants
Photovoltaic power systems
Satellite solar power stations
Solar energy -- Connecticut
Tidal Power Plants Maine
Total Energy Systems On Site Electric Power Production
Wind Power United States

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Alternative motor fuels and vehicles [electronic resource] : impact on the transportation sector : 2001
Cape Wind project [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy : 2005
Demonstration and evaluation of hybrid diesel-electric transit buses / [George Foyt] : 2005
Developing biomass potential : turning hazardous fuels into valuable products : oversight hearing be 2005 
Effect of replacing conventional vehicles with hybrid vehicles [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman: 2004
Fuel cells and biomass [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy, 2004
Fuel cell vehicles [electronic resource] : race to a new automotive future : 2003
Hybrid electric vehicles [electronic resource] / by Joseph Holstead : 2004
Renewable energy [electronic resource] : wind power's contribution to electric power generation: 2004
Save with solar and wind [electronic resource] : 2002
Small wind electric systems [electronic resource] : a U.S. consumer's guide / produced for the U.S. : 2005
Statistical wind power forecasting for U.S. wind farms [electronic resource] : preprint / M. Milligan: 2003
Wind power [electronic resource] : today & tomorrow / produced for the U.S. Department of Energy : 2004
Wind power impacts on electric power system operating costs [electronic resource] : 2004

Electronic Journals
Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we’ll be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on Alternative Energy Sources include:

Alternative fuel news
Alternative fuels today
Alternative Transportation Fuels Today
Energy engineering
Fuel cell technology news
Fuel Cells Today
International solar energy intelligence report

Renewable Energy Today
Science matters. Adaptations, wind, space and energy sources

(Top of the page)

 


Energy Costs and Efficiency

Subject heading searches
The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to Energy Costs and Efficiency, search our online catalog using the following subjects:

Architecture And Energy Conservation Handbooks Manuals Etc
Automobiles Fuel Consumption Standards United States
Automobiles Fuel Consumption United States
Buildings Energy Conservation
Buildings Thermal Properties
Dwellings -- Energy conservation
Electric Power Conservation
Electric Power Conservation Connecticut
Energy Conservation
Energy conservation -- Law and legislation -- Connecticut
Energy Conservation Connecticut
Energy consumption
Energy consumption -- Law and legislation -- Connecticut

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library

Electric utility conservation programs [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy : 2001
Energy Availability In Connecticut / Connecticut General Assembly, Legislative Program Review And Investigations Committee: 2002
Energy efficiency initiatives [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy : 2005
Executive Order No. 32 / by John G. Rowland : 2004
Good, better best: How to improve gas mileage : 2005
Home insulation basics [electronic resource] : higher r-values = higher insulating values : 2000
Perspectives on fuel consumption and air contaminant emission rates by highway vehicles : 2001
Report Of The Energy Conservation Management Board : 2001

Electronic Journals
Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we’ll be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on Alternative Energy Sources include:

Energy conservation news
Energy optimization news
Conservation matters

(Top of the page)


Connecticut's Tax Exemptions

The State of Connecticut, through the Department of Revenue Services is offering a sales tax exemption to purchasers of Hybrid Electric Vehicles up to October 1, 2008. For details, see the notice.

The Connecticut Department of Social Services has two programs to assist Connecticut families with winter heating costs. The Connecticut Energy Assistance Program (CEAP) provides basic benefits for eligible homeowners and renters.  The Contingency Heating Assistance Program (CHAP) is for households whose incomes are higher than would qualify for CEAP. The Weatherization Assistance Program, also administered through the Department of Social Service, assists low-income families with incomes up to 200% of the federal poverty guidelines reduce their energy bills by making their homes more energy efficient.

The Connecticut Clean Energy Fund offers rebates on solar photovoltaic (PV) systems to Connecticut homeowners through eligible installers. Also, there is a Federal tax credit under current law, where an individual homeowner may take an income tax credit of 30% of spending on qualified solar property up to $2,000. This law is effective for systems placed in service by the end of 2008. New federal legislation has been introduced to extend and expand the solar tax credits. More information is available from the Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA.)

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library

Description of the "Energy Policy Tax Incentives Act of 2005" [electronic resource] : 2005
Description of the chairman's modification to the provisions of the "Energy Policy Tax Incentives Act: 2005
Energy assistance for housing authorities and seniors [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy: 2006
Energy assistance programs [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy: 2005
Energy conservation tax incentives [electronic resource] / by Kevin McCarthy : 2007
Energy Tax Incentives Act of 2005 : text of H.R. 6, as passed by the House on July 28, 2005
Solar technology incentives and installers [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy : 2007
State and federal tax incentives for energy efficient equipment [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy : 2006

State tax exemptions for energy efficient equipment [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy: 2006


 

Related Agencies/Organizations

Energy Management Unit, Office of Policy and Management
The Energy Management Unit provides general oversight regarding energy usage and management of energy costs in State facilities.

Connecticut Energy Info Center

Connecticut Department of Public Utility Control

CT Energy Resources
From the Governor's web site, a compilation of links to various energy-related sites including her One Thing page.

United States Department of Energy 

 

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 12/2008.

(Top of the page)