Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:  CSL Research Resources > Public Policy Page

Environmental Quality

Air quality   Water quality   Hazardous waste   Land & Wilderness Preservation
Wildlife Management   Long Island Sound

Maintaining and preserving a healthy environment in the state of Connecticut is an issue that is vital to all state residents. The resources listed here will help to make decisions for the judicious use of resources, preservation of current environmental resources and mitigation of past environmental damage.

Subject heading searches

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to environment, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Environmental protection -- Connecticut
Pollution -- Connecticut
Environmental law -- Connecticut
Environmental policy -- Connecticut
Connecticut. Dept. of Environmental Protection
Ecology -- Connecticut
Connecticut. Dept Of Public Health

 

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Connecticut Environment Policy Act [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman : 2004

Environment [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman : 2007

Environment bills reported to the Finance Committee [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman, Joseph : 2006

Introducing wildlife into Connecticut [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman : 2006

OLR acts affecting environment [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman : 2002

Preventing pollution by towns [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman : 2002

Proposals to reduce emissions for generating plants [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy : 2000

(Top of the page)

Statistics

From State & Local Sourcebook, an overview of environment statistics on a variety of topics including alternative fuel stations, superfund sites, drinking water quality and more.

 

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we値l be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on environmental policy include:

Business and the environment
Environment bulletin
Ethics and the environment  
Journal of environment & development
Law, Environment and Development Journal
Pollution engineering

 

 

(Top of the page)


Air Quality

Subject heading searches

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to Air Quality, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Air pollution -- Connecticut
Air quality management -- Connecticut
Air quality -- Connecticut

 

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Change In Air Quality Due To Suspension Of Emissions Testing Program / [Electronic Resource] / By Paul Frisman : 2003

Changes To Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program / [Electronic Resource] / By James J. Fazzalaro : 2002

Clean Air Interstate Rule / [Electronic Resource] / By Paul Frisman : 2005

Diesel Emissions / [Electronic Resource] / By Joseph Holstead : 2004

Emissions Inspection Program / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy : 2004

Failure Diagnosis In Emissions Inspection Program / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy : 2004

Fee For Registration Of New Vehicles Exempt From Emissions Testing / [Electronic Resource] / By James J. Fazzalaro : 2004

Moving From A Centralized To A Decentralized Emissions Program / [Electronic Resource] / By Janet L. Kaminski : 2004

Notification Of Repair Cost Minimum Under The Emissions Inspection Program / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy : 2004

Older Fossil Fuel Plants And Emissions Controls / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy : 2000

Test Schedules For Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program / [Electronic Resource] / By James J. Fazzalaro : 2005

Updates To The Ozone Attainment Plans For The Southwest Connecticut And Greater Connecticut Ozone No / [Electronic Resource] / Connecticut Department Of Environmental Protection : 2001

 

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we値l be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on air quality issues include :

    Air pollution consultant


 

(Top of the page)


Water Quality

Subject heading searches

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to water quality, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Water pollution -- Connecticut
Water quality -- Connecticut
Water quality management -- Connecticut
Wellhead protection -- Connecticut
Nonpoint source pollution -- Connecticut
Groundwater -- Connecticut

 

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

401 Water Quality Certificate / [Electronic Resource] / By Joseph Holstead : 2004

Connecticut Waterbodies Not Meeting Water Quality Standards, 1998 / [Electronic Resource] : 1998

Exempting Small Water Companies From Water Quality Testing Requirements / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy : 2005

Water Quality Testing And Conversion To Public Water Systems / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy : 2004

Water Testing-Convenience Store / [Electronic Resource] / By John Kasprak : 2005

(Top of the page)

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we値l be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on water quality issues include :

Journal of Water and Environment Technology
Water environment & technology  
Water environment research

 

(Top of the page)


Hazardous Waste

Subject heading searches

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to hazardous waste, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Hazardous waste management industry -- Connecticut

Hazardous waste site remediation -- Connecticut
Hazardous waste sites -- Connecticut
Environmental law -- Connecticut

 

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Auto repair shop environmental fee [electronic resource] / by Joseph Holstead : 2003

Brownfields in Connecticut / Legislative Program Review & Investigations Committee  [1998]

EPA regulations for older power plants [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy : 2002

MTBE and groundwater contamination [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman : 2003

 

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we値l be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on hazardous waste issues include:

Hazardous waste consultant  
Hazardous waste
Hazardous Waste Superfund Alert
Hazardous waste/superfund report
Hazardous waste/superfund week

 

(Top of the page)


Land and Wilderness Preservation

Subject heading searches

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to land and wilderness preservation, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Land use -- Connecticut
Open spaces -- Connecticut
Agricultural conservation -- Connecticut
Agriculture -- Economic aspects -- Connecticut
Land use, Rural -- Connecticut
Habitat conservation -- Connecticut
Connecticut River

 

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Abandonment Of Water Company Lands And The Kelda Lands / [Electronic Resource] / By Paul Frisman : 2002

Building ponds on private property [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman : 2003

DEP model inland wetland regulations [electronic resource] / by Joseph Holstead : 2003

Forest management [electronic resource] / by Joseph Holstead : 2004

Forestry practices regulation [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy : 2001

Funding Open Space Acquisitions / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy : 2000

Harvard Design School's Smart Growth Recommendations / [Electronic Resource] / By John G. Rappa : 2002

Impact Of Open Space Preservation On Property Values / [Electronic Resource] / By Paul Frisman : 2006

Open Space Funding / [Electronic Resource] / By Kevin E. McCarthy : 2001

State Aid For Municipal Land Purchases / [Electronic Resource] / By John Moran : 2001

The Authority Of Local Legislative Bodies To Impose Land Use Moratoria / [Electronic Resource] / By John G. Rappa : 2001

(Top of the page)

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we値l be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on preservation issues include :

Journal of soil and water conservation
Soil & water conservation news
Soil science

 

(Top of the page)


Wildlife Management

Subject heading searches

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to wildlife management, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Wildlife conservation -- Connecticut
Endangered species -- Connecticut
Habitat conservation -- Connecticut
Wildlife management -- Connecticut
Birds -- Conservation -- Connecticut
Fisheries -- Connecticut
Fishery Management -- Connecticut -- Periodicals

 

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Connecticut's Comprehensive Wildlife Conservation Strategy / [Electronic Resource] / Connecticut Department Of Environmental Protection : 2006

Control of the suburban deer population [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman : 2004

Pheasant stocking [electronic resource] / by Joseph Holstead : 2004

 

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we値l be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on wildlife issues include:

Fish and wildlife news
International wildlife
Journal of international wildlife law and policy
National wildlife
Wildlife Biology in Practice
Fish farming international

 

(Top of the page)


Long Island Sound

Subject heading searches

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to Long Island Sound, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Long Island Sound (N.Y. and Conn.)
Oyster culture -- Connecticut
Oyster culture -- Long Island Sound (N.Y. and Conn.)
Oyster culture -- Law and legislation -- Connecticut
Coastal zone management -- Long Island Sound (N.Y. and Conn.)
Fisheries -- Connecticut

 

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Acts affecting the Long Island Sound since 2004 [electronic resource] / by Joseph Holstead : 2006

Connecticut Coastal Management Manual : 2000

Connecticut's options regarding proposed LNG facility [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy : 2005

Long Island Sound lobster survey summary report, spring 2000

Long Island Sound Symposium--a study of benthic habitats / a report by the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering for the Connecticut Energy Advisory Board, 2004.

 

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we値l be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on Long Island Sound include :

Sound Outlook : A Newsletter Of The Conn. Department Of Environmental Protection

Sound Update

 

(Top of the page)

Prepared by the Government Information & Reference Services Unit, page revised 12/2008.