Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:   Public Policy Page

Grants


This research guide leads to information about government grants and other benefits as well as information for and about the nonprofit community.

State Library Resources   Connecticut Resources   Grants to Libraries   United States Resources 

State Library Resources

Subject heading searches

The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats. For a listing of those resources related to Grants, search our online catalog using the following subjects:

Government Aid Connecticut
Government Aid To Education Connecticut
Government Aid To Education United States States
Government Aid To Higher Education Connecticut
Government Aid To Hospitals Connecticut
Government Aid To Small Business Connecticut
Government Aid To The Arts Connecticut
Government Aid United States States
Grants In Aid
Grants In Aid Connecticut
Grants In Aid Connecticut Handbooks Manuals Etc
Grants In Aid United States Directories
Grants In Aid United States Handbooks Manuals Etc


 

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of the following sampling of publications is available through the State Library :

Categorical Education Grants II, by Judith Lohman and Alan Shepard, Office of Legislative Research, 2001.

Connecticut Independent College Student Grants for Gibbs College, by Saul Spigel, Office of Legislative Research, 2006.

Constitutionality of ECS Minimum Grants, by Judith Lohman, Office of Legislative Research, 2005.

CSU Students Receiving State Financial Aid or Grants, by Veronica Rose, Office of Legislative Research, 2003.

Department of Economic and Community Development's Policy for Making Grants and Forgiving Loans, by John G. Rappa, Office of Legislative Research, 2002.

Education cost sharing grant cap and floor, by Judith Lohman,
Office of Legislative Research, 2006.

Emergency TV Communications For Deaf People, by Kevin E. McCarthy, Office of Legislative Research, 2005.

Employment Grants, by Lynn Marx, Office of Legislative Research, 2001.

Financial Assistance for Day Care Centers, by Saul Spigel, Office of Legislative Research, 2002.

Financial Assistance for Small Business Start-ups, by Elizabeth Pytka, Office of Legislative Research, 2005.

Funding for Attorneys Who Represent Children in Family Court, by Saul Spigel, Office of Legislative Research, 2002.

Government Funds for Agricultural Infrastructure, by John Rappa, Office of Legislative Research, 2005.

Government Home Improvement Loans and Grants, by Joseph Holstead, Office of Legislative Research, 2006.

Grants to Organizations. Application Guidelines, National Endowment for the Arts, 1995-

Municipal Land Use Development Control Tools, by Kevin E. McCarthy, Office of Legislative Research, 2005.

Student Eligibility Criteria for State Student Financial Assistance, by Saul Spigel, Office of Legislative Research, 2006.

Electronic Journals

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we’ll be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on Grants  include:

Nonprofit Review
Student aid news


 

(Top of the page)

Connecticut Resources

Connecticut Companies : Their Commitment to Communities

A report containing insights into the motivations and trends in the engagement of businesses in communities, made available by the Connecticut Council for Philanthropy. Based on interviews conducted by the Center for Survey Research & Analysis at the University of Connecticut.

Connecticut Grantmakers Online

AVAILABLE AT CT STATE LIBRARY : A searchable online database of more than 1,500 Connecticut grantmaking foundations, corporate foundations and corporate giving programs, published by the Connecticut Council for Philanthropy. Includes names and addresses. 

Connecticut Nonprofit Employment

Information on the size, composition, and distribution of paid employment in the private nonprofit sector in Connecticut as of the end of the year 2000.

Connecticut Nonprofit Information Network

An abundance of information about nonprofits, including resources for starting a nonprofit organization.

The Connecticut Nonprofit Sector : More Than Charity

This report by the Connecticut Association of Nonprofits, in collaboration with the National Council of Nonprofit Associations, summarizes the most recent available data on Connecticut's nonprofits. 

The Foundation Center Cooperating Collections - Connecticut

A list of libraries in Connecticut that host free funding information centers and provide a core collection of Foundation Center publications and a variety of supplementary materials and services in areas useful to grant seekers. All four libraries offer access to FC Search, the Foundation Center's Database on CD-Rom. 

A Closer Look at New England Giving

A new research study funded in part by the Connecticut Council for Philanthropy reveals the true nature of giving by New Englanders. Click here for the full report.

Grant Information Sheets

From the Office of Fiscal Analysis, grant information sheets that provide program descriptions, historical statistics and contact information for specific grants, arranged by administering Agency.

Grants/Services Offered by the Office of Policy and Management

Lists programs that provide tax relief, financial assistance, and/or grant funds directly to OPM customers. The list is grouped into three customer categories by program recipients and/or eligibility requirements: 1) Individuals 2) Businesses and 3) Municipalities/Regional & Non-Profit Organizations/State Agencies.

Historic Document Preservation Grant Program

Application forms and guidelines, as well as forms for monthly and final reports. 

(Top of the page)

Grants to Libraries

The State Library Division of Library Services administers grant programs to help libraries, including :

(Top of the page)

United States Resources

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

This online catalog provides access to a database of 15 types of federal assistance programs currently available to state/local governments, organizations, individuals and other entities. Also includes an historical index with program profiles dating back to 1965. 

Grants.gov

A web site for organizations to find and apply for federal government grants. Includes a resources page with links to grants-related information.

GovBenefits.gov

For individuals : a web site to help you find government benefits that you may be eligible to receive. Primarily federal programs, with links to some state programs as well.

USA.Gov for Nonprofits

Links to government information tailored to the nonprofit community, including agency-specific nonprofit resources.

United States Internal Revenue Service

Tax information for charities and other nonprofits. Also links to IRS publications related to charitable donations by individuals.

IRS- Search for Charities - Online Version of Publication 78

Search for charities by name or by location listed in the Internal Revenue Service publication, Cumulative List of Organizations.

GuideStar

Access a database of more than 1.5 million nonprofit organizations in the United States, including financial information and IRS 990 filings.  Registration free for basic search.  GuideStar Premium available at the State Library with more search options and detailed reports.

The Foundation Center

Information about the nation's leading authority on philanthropy in America, including the Center's online database of grants and active grantmakers available by subscription, or free at over 200 libraries.

The Foundation Center Cooperating Collections - University of Wisconsin

Grants Information Center offering a wealth of information about grants, including guidelines for proposal writing. 

(Top of the page)

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 11/2008.