Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:   CSL Research Resources > Statistics

Health Statistics

This Connecticut State Library research guide leads to Connecticut health statistics sources.

General Sources  | By Condition  |  Mental Health  |  By Population Group  |  By Topic


General Sources

 

Access the Attorney General's Prescription Page to compare the cost of the most commonly prescribed drugs at pharmacies statewide. Includes an interactive searchable database of pharmacies, towns and prescription drug prices. 

Connecticut Epidemiologist  The Connecticut Epidemiologist Newsletter has been produced by the Connecticut Department of Public Health, since 1982. It is an important tool for the Division of Infectious Diseases in distributing current disease information to primary care physicians, infection control practitioners, and other health professionals. Indexes for the following publication years are available: 1998-2008.

Looking Toward 2000- An Assessment of Health Status and Health Services Report objectives are: to inform policy makers and the public about the health of Connecticut residents, the state’s health care delivery system, the need for health services and programs, and their fiscal implications.

Health Insurance Data  From the United States Census Bureau, health insurance related data including a report on health insurance coverage in the United States with detailed tables. Also a report on children's health insurance and statistics for low income uninsured children by year.

CDC Data & Statistics  Statistical information compiled by the National Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, including national and state data on a variety of health related topics.

From State & Local Sourcebook, an overview of health statistics on a variety of topics including hospital spending and health insurance coverage.

PolicyArchive provides a free searchable digital archive of non-partisan public policy research, including "Dying for Coverage in Connecticut," containing statistics related to residents without health insurance.
 

(Top of the page)  


By Condition

 

Statistics and Research - Connecticut Department of Public Health  This is the first place to look for reports and statistics on the health of Connecticut's population. Statistics on a variety of health topics are easily found on this well-indexed site. Check here for the lastest statistics on AIDS, asthma, cancer, diabetes, Lyme Disease, and many other diseases. For weekly reports on Deaths in Selected Cities (Bridgeport, Hartford, New Haven and Waterbury), and state totals for selected notifiable diseases, use Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report.

 

The DPH site includes the newly released "Cancer Incidence and Mortality in Connecticut" database which contains tables with cancer rates for each of the stat's counties and county maps, colored according to the range of cancer rates for each type of cancer.  Searchable by year of diagnosis or death, specific cancer "site" (type of cancer), county and race/ethnicity.

 


Mental Health

The Governor's Blue Ribbon Commission on Mental Health Governor John G. Rowland established the Blue Ribbon Commission on Mental Health in January 2000. His order mandated the Commission to examine the mental health system and to recommend how it might be improved. Emphasis was placed on exploring ways that academic, private and state agencies could collaborate to improve the range of services needed by people with mental illness throughout their life. Strategies for promoting mental health and preventing mental illness were investigated, as well as strategies for supporting people who have mental illnesses and those who are in recovery.
 

(Top of the page) 


By Population Group

America's Children in Brief : Key National Indicators of Well-Being, 2008   This report is a compendium of the most recently released federal statistics on the nation's children, issued by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics. It presents a comprehensive look at critical areas of child well-being. These encompass family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.  Includes updated data on several measures of child health including general health and chronic disease, birth outcomes, mortality rates, overweight, immunization rates and rates of birth to adolescents.

Connecticut's Children 2008  The Child Welfare League of America presents descriptive information on the condition of vulnerable children, using indicators of child protection, health, child care, education, and income support. 

Connecticut Women's Health  Connecticut Women’s Health is a resource for policymakers, health care providers, academics, and advocates who are addressing the health status of and health care services for women in Connecticut. The report discusses women’s health in the context of age, race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and behavioral risk factors. Connecticut Women’s Health includes an assessment of the leading causes of hospitalization and death (heart disease, stroke, cancer, respiratory disease, diabetes); conditions unique to females (gynecologic cancers, pregnancy and childbirth); and those that are more prevalent in females than males (osteoporosis, osteoarthritis, sexual and domestic violence, etc.).

Kids Count  Kids Count, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the U.S. Kids Count provides policymakers and citizens with benchmarks of child well-being, and seeks to enrich local, state, and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children.

Multicultural Health: the Health Status of Minority Groups in Connecticut This report compares statewide data on key socioeconomic and health indicators for African American, Hispanic, Asian American and Pacific Islander, and Native American populations (identified as "minority groups" throughout this report) and the white population in Connecticut, specifically highlighting areas where disparities exist. The report examines these differences in the context of the social and economic conditions that affect the health and well-being of residents.
 

(Top of the page) 


By Topic

Safety and Health

Safety and Health Statistics Connecticut Department of Labor information on workplace injuries, illnesses, and fatalities that occur in Connecticut. Links to Occupational Illness and Injuries and other publications.

Social Indicators

Social Indicators Research Guide

Vital Records

Annual Registration Reports Statistics from the Connecticut vital records databases, including analyses of births, deaths, fetal deaths, marriages, and divorces. Page presents historical data.
 

(Top of the page) 

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 1/2009.