Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:  CSL Research Resources > Public Policy Page

Children’s Health

State Library Resources  State Publications  Electronic Journals   Related Agencies/Organizations   Statistics

The state of children’s health is a prime concern for residents of the State of Connecticut . The Connecticut State Library has many resources available that give information on state initiatives and programs, laws and statutes regarding children’s health and online resources that can help in making decisions regarding children’s health.

STATE LIBRARY RESOURCES

Subject heading searches

Child Health Services Connecticut
State Child Health Plan Conn
Children Health And Hygiene Connecticut  

Children Health And Hygiene Connecticut Handbooks Manuals Etc
Child Mental Health Services Connecticut

STATE OF CONNECTICUT PUBLICATIONS

Full text of these publications is available through the State Library CONSULS online catalog

ADOLESCENT HEALTH

Adolescent health strategic plan
Connecticut teen pregnancy facts, statistics, and programs

ASTHMA

Asthma in Connecticut, 2008
Asthma in Connecticut, 2005
Asthma in Connecticut update, 2003
Managing asthma in Connecticut schools : a resource manual
Asthma and Asthma-Related Health Care in Children Enrolled in HUSKY A: 2004
Asthma in Children Enrolled in HUSKY A: FFY 2002

CHILD SUPPORT GUIDELINES
        A current table of Connecticut Child Support Guidelines.

CHILREN’S HEALTH PROGRAMS

Directory of Children's Health Programs
Connecticut school based health centers: Annual report 2003-2005
Connecticut Children’s Medical Center
Office of the Healthcare Advocate

CHILDREN’S HEALTH IN THE SCHOOLS

Connecticut School Health Survey, including 2005 results
Guidelines for identifying and educating students with serious emotional disturbance
Guidelines for speech and language programs
Guidelines for identifying children with intellectual disability
Guidelines for developing policies and procedures for reporting child abuse and neglect

CHILDREN’S MENTAL HEALTH

CHILDREN'S MENTAL HEALTH- Connecticut Health Foundation
The State of Children's Mental Health In Connecticut: A Brief Overview

CONNECTICUT STATE LEGISLATURE

CHILDREN'S HEALTH ISSUES IN 2003 LEGISLATIVE SESSION
KIDCARE CHILDREN'S MENTAL HEALTH PROPOSAL

LEAD

Plan to eliminate childhood lead poisoning by 2010
A Parent's Guide for the Interim Control of Lead Hazards in Housing

OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH REPORTS

HUSKY B-non-payment of premiums [electronic resource] / by Robin K. Cohen
State incentives for employer-based health insurance coverage [electronic resource] / by Patricia O'Shea
HUSKY and food stamp costs [electronic resource] / by Robin K. Cohen
HUSKY A and B--recent changes [electronic resource] / by Robin K. Cohen
Children's health issues in 2003 legislative session [electronic resource] / by Saul Spigel
KidCare children's mental health proposal [electronic resource] / by Saul Spigel
Systems of care evaluation [electronic resource] / by Saul Spigel
Child guidance clinics [electronic resource] / by Saul Spigel
State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) funding [electronic resource] / by Robin Cohen
Husky part A Hartford enrollment study [electronic resource] 

SPECIAL CARE NEEDS

Children with special health care needs: A plan of action. 2007
Children with special health care needs: needs assessment report prepared for the Connecticut Department of Public Health. 2004

SMOKING

Youth smoking in Connecticut fact sheet
Connecticut 2002 Youth Tobacco Survey Results

YOUTH CAMPS

List of licensed youth camps in Connecticut

(Top of the page)

ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles, and an entire section devoted to Health and Wellness research.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, we’ll be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on Children’s Health include:

Annals of dyslexia
Archives of disease in childhood.
Archives of pediatrics & adolescent
BMC pediatrics
Brown University child and adolescent psychopharmacology
Focus on autism and other developmental
Infants and young children
Internet journal of pediatrics
Journal of child and adolescent psychiatric nursing
Journal of emotional and behavioral
Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent
Journal of the Society of Pediatric
Pediatric annals
Pediatric news
Pediatric nursing
Pediatrics (Evanston)

(Top of the page)

RELATED AGENCIES AND ORGANIZATIONS

Connecticut Department of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Unit

State of Connecticut Commission on Children

Connecticut State Department of Education, Health Promotion Services/School Nurse Program

provides consultation to school nurses, school nurse leaders, school administrators and the community regarding the health and safety of students.  This consultation and technical assistance includes addressing the provisions of health services during the school day and the promotion of health and wellness activities that support student achievement. Professional development programs are periodically organized to further assist and support school nurses.

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), Office of Child Health

According to the ATSDR, An estimated 3-4 million American Children live within one mile of at least one hazardous waste site. This site provides resources relating to pediatric toxicology, children's health issues relating to hazardous waste sites, and more.

CDC Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program

According to the CDC, childhood-lead poisoning remains a major preventable environmental health problem in the U.S. The CDC Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program's goal is to eliminate childhood lead poisoning as a major health problem. This web site provides extensive information about the program, including resources state & local governments, publications, and statistics relating to this issue.

Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut

CHDI was incorporated in 1997. Its beginnings go back to 1992 with the establishment of the Children’s Fund of Connecticut (CFC).  CFC is a nonprofit charitable foundation dedicated to improving the healthy development of Connecticut ’s children. CHDI is its subsidiary and functions as the Fund’s operating arm.  Together, these organizations are pursuing the ultimate goal that children in Connecticut , particularly those who are disadvantaged, will have access to and make use of a comprehensive, effective, community-based health and mental health care system.

Connecticut Children's Medical Center

The Connecticut Children’s Medical Center is dedicated to improving the physical and emotional health of children. The people of Connecticut Children's Medical Center embrace a comprehensive view of child health, and strive for preeminence in helping each child reach for and achieve maximum potential and independence.  

Connecticut Voices for Children

The mission of Connecticut Voices for Children is to promote the well-being of all of Connecticut ’s young people and their families by advocating for strategic public investments and prudent public policies. Connecticut Voices for Children advances its mission through high quality research and analysis, strategic communications, citizen education, and development of the next generation of advocates.

4 Girls Health

This web site, developed by the Office on Women's Health in the Department of Health and Human Services, is designed to give girls between the ages of 10 and 16 reliable, current health information. Topics include the following: becoming a woman, nutrition & exercise, substance abuse prevention, and mental health & stress issues.

Health Topics: Adolescents & Teens

Site provides links to information about adolescent & teen health issues, including smoking, teen pregnancy, injuries, teenage drivers, and more.

Heath Topics: Infants & Children

Site provides links to information about infant & teen health issues, including autism, child development, playground injuries, and more.

Ready, Set, Grow...CT Kids

Ready, set, Grow…CT Kids is Connecticut 's multi-year campaign to ensure that all of our children enter kindergarten healthy and ready for school success. This website is dedicated to providing research, data, tools, and opportunities for folks to help us reach our goal of "all children ready".

Mental Health

Caring for Every Child's Mental Health Campaign

SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center provides an extensive list of pathfinders to mental health issues related to children and adolescents. The site provides links to publications such as teen mental health problems, school violence prevention, and anxiety disorders, just to name a few.

Depression in Children & Adolescents

National Institute of Mental Health provides a fact sheet for physicians focusing on the scope of the problem, clinical characteristics, symptoms, screening, and more. It also includes a list of information resources and an extensive bibliography.

Nutrition

Adolescent Nutrition & Health

National Agriculture Library site that provides links to resources for adolescent & older teen resources on nutrition, including information on body images, sports enhancing drugs, and weight control issues.

Child Nutrition & Health

National Agriculture Library site that provides links relating to nutrition for children, including general sites, food & nutrition fun, and links to resources & materials.

(Top of the page)

STATISTICS

America's Children : Key National Indicators of Well-Being 2005

From the national report, this section presents information on several measures of child health including general health and chronic disease, birth outcomes, mortality rates, overweight, immunization rates and rates of birth to adolescents. The full report includes special features on children with asthma, children with specified blood lead levels and parental reports of children's emotional and behavioral difficulties. Access to related state data is also available.

Connecticut's Children 2005

Connecticut's Children 2006

The Child Welfare League of America presents descriptive information on the condition of vulnerable children, using indicators of child protection, health, child care, education, and income support.

Kids Count

Kids Count, is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the U.S. Kids Count provides policymakers and citizens with benchmarks of child well-being, and seeks to enrich local, state, and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children.

(Top of the page)

 

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 12/2007.