Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:   CSL Research Resources > Statistics

Social Indicator Statistics

This Connecticut State Library research guide presents sources of Connecticut social indicator statistics.

General Resources    Children    Gambling    Libraries    

 


General Resources

NEW : Social Health of the States 2008 compares the social performance of the fifty states, based on sixteen social indicators that measure the well-being of Americans in such critical areas as education, health, work, safety, and income. 

Comptroller's Report: Connecticut's Economic Health  Contains analysis of data on Connecticut's uninsured, including uninsured children.

Social State of Connecticut  Includes the Connecticut Index of Social Health; and sections with significant statistics on infant mortality; child abuse; youth suicide; high school completion; teenage births; unemployment; average weekly wages; health care costs; violent crimes; affordable housing; and income variation. A separate background report is available from the Office of Legislative Research.

State of Connecticut Social Indicators  The State of Connecticut Social Indicators reports are based on data collected by the Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation (PIRE) for the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services as part of the recent statewide prevention needs assessment funded by the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention. Each town report contains sections on demographics, community, family, school and individual domain indicators.

Development Report Card for the States Compare the economies of all states with the annual DRC which uses 68 measures to assess economic opportunities in each state. Includes 3 indexes : economic performance, business vitality and development capacity. Connecticut results available here.

From State & Local Sourcebook, an overview of social services statistics on a variety of topics including welfare spending.

 

 


Children

 

Children in the States  From the Children's Defense Fund, comparative statistics for Connecticut and the United States for population, poverty, hunger, early childhood development, child   welfare, education, health and youth at risk, including state rankings.

Connecticut's Children 2009  The Child Welfare League of America presents state by state data on the status of children on indicators of child protection, health, child care, education, violence, and income support.

Kids Count  Kids Count is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the U.S. Provides policymakers and citizens with benchmarks of child well-being, and seeks to enrich local, state, and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children.

A Profile of Connecticut's Youth : An Executive Summary of The State of Connecticut's Youth, 2003  This report and its parent publication present an overview of the best available and most current data on the overall well-being of youth in Connecticut at the time of the study.

State Report Card on Child Homelessness, the complete report by The National Center on Family Homelessness including source notes and state rankings . . . also a short report highlighting key data.

 

(Top of the page)


Gambling

Problem Gambling  The Connecticut Council on Problem Gambling (CCPG) operates a 24-hour Helpline Service for callers seeking help with a gambling problem for themselves or someone they care about.

Prevalence of Problem Gambling  This statistical fact sheet is made available by the Connecticut Clearinghouse, a program of Wheeler Clinic Inc., funded by the Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services.

Gaming Statistics  The Division of Special Revenue is responsible for ensuring the highest degree of integrity in the conduct of all forms of legalized gambling. The following wagering statistics generated by the agency detail sales and prizes for different types of gambling in Connecticut.


Libraries

Connecticut Public Library Statistical Profile Statistical information compiled from reports received from over 165 public libraries in Connecticut. Includes collections, services, personnel, benefits, income, fees, expenditures and more. 

(Top of the page)

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 4/2009.