Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:   CSL Research Resources


The estimated 2008 population of Connecticut is 3,501,252. The area of Connecticut is approximately 5,565 square miles, or 3,561,886 acres. The highest altitude is the slope of Mount Frissell in Salisbury, 2,380 feet above sea level. Connecticut has 169 towns, 8 counties (non-governmental), 21 cities, and 9 boroughs. There are 2 U.S. Senators and  5 U.S. Representatives in Congress.
 There are 36 State Senators in the General Assembly and 151 State Representatives. Source: Connecticut Secretary of the State, State Register and Manual.





Public Finance



Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 4/2009.