Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:  CSL Research Resources > Public Policy Page

Transportation

Highway congestion    I-95 and the Merritt Pkwy   Mass and Urban transit
Truck Safety   Air transport   Cargo transport

The issue of transportation is vital to the economy and well-being of the State of Connecticut, now and into the future. The Connecticut State Library holds many state and federal documents, as well as books and other publications, that can illustrate and inform on this important issue. This is an introduction to some of the resources that may be helpful in your research.  Wed be happy to assist you with additional materials available at the State Library.  Please call us at 860-757-6500 or e-mail us atisref@cslib.org

Subject heading searches
The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to transportation, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Transportation -- Connecticut
Transportation and state -- Connecticut
Transportation Connecticut -- Periodicals
United States. Dept. of Transportation


State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Federal transportation funding [electronic resource] / by Janet L. Kaminski : 2004
Long-range transportation plan for the state of Connecticut, 2004-2030
Master transportation plan- 2005
Transportation, a strategic investment : an action plan for Connecticut, 2003-2023

 

Electronic Journals
Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, well be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on transportation include :

Transportation
Transportation & Distribution
Transportation Corps Professional Bulletin
Transportation Law
Transportation Quarterly  
Transportation Science

(Top of the page)

Statistics

From State & Local Sourcebook, an overview of public works statistics on a variety of topics including highway spending.

 

Highways and highway congestion

The most vexing problems with transportation in Connecticut revolve around the states highways and the volume of traffic that regularly snarls them. Maintenance, construction, infrastructure replacement and snow removal all add to the complexity of the problem.
A private web site devoted to Connecticut highways can be found at : http://www.kurumi.com/roads/ct/

This is an introduction to some of the resources that may be helpful in your research.  Wed be happy to assist you with additional materials available at the State Library.  Please call us at 860-757-6500 or e-mail us at isref@cslib.org

Subject heading searches
The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to highways and highway congestion, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Commuting -- Connecticut
Connecticut Transportation Strategy Board
Traffic accidents -- Connecticut
Traffic congestion -- Connecticut
Urban transportation policy -- United States

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Highway congestion : Intelligent Transportation Systems' promise for managing . . ., 2005
Relieving highway congestion through capacity enhancements and increased efficiency : hearing before . . .
, 2002
Transportation, a strategic investment : an action plan for Connecticut, 2003-2023

Electronic Journals
Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, well be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on highways and highway congestion include :

    Highway & Heavy Construction
    Traffic
    Traffic World

(Top of the page)

Interstate 95 and the Merritt Parkway

This is an introduction to some of the resources that may be helpful in your research.  Wed be happy to assist you with additional materials available at the State Library.  Please call us at 860-757-6500 or e-mail us at isref@cslib.org

Subject heading searches
The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to Interstate 95 and the Merritt Parkway , search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Express highways -- Connecticut
Interstate 95
Merritt Parkway (Conn.)

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library

Costs estimates for major highway expansion of I-95 and Route 15 and related issues [electronic resource] By: James J. Fazzalaro
High accident locations on I-95 [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro 2000
I-95 corridor, Branford to Rhode Island feasibility study final report, 2004
I-95 New Haven Harbor crossing corridor improvement program
Improvements in the I-95 corridor [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro 2000
Merritt Parkway traffic accident analysis [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro 2002
State right of way along the Merritt Parkway [electronic resource] / by Paul Frisman : 2000
Status of I-95 project in Darien [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro
Using barges to bypass I-95 [electronic resource] / by John Moran 2000

(Top of the page)  

Mass Transit

This is an introduction to some of the resources that may be helpful in your research.  Wed be happy to assist you with additional materials available at the State Library.  Please call us at 860-757-6500 or e-mail us at isref@cslib.org

Subject heading searches
The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to Mass transit, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Amtrak
Bus lanes -- Design and construction -- Environmental aspects -- Connecticut -- Hartford
Bus lines -- Connecticut
Commuting -- Connecticut
Federal aid to transportation -- United States
Local transit -- Connecticut
Local transit --United States
Metro North Railroad
Railroads -- Connecticut
Railroads -- Connecticut -- Commuting traffic
Railroads -- Connecticut -- Passenger traffic
Railroads -- Commuting traffic -- Northeastern States  
Railroads -- Commuting traffic -- United States
Urban transportation

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Connecticut DOT statewide bus system study. Executive summary
High occupancy vehicle lane report, 2007
Metro North Railroad [electronic resource] / by Veronica Rose
New Haven - Hartford - Springfield Commuter Rail Implementation Plan, Final Report (June, 2005)
Questions for Metro North New Haven Rail Commuter Council nominee [electronic resource] / by James J. J Fazzalaro

Summary of Metro North contract analysis [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro
Update of OLR report 2001-R-514 regarding the Metro North contract analysis [electronic resource] 2005

Electronic Journals
Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, well be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on mass transit congestion include :

Mass Transit ( Washington , D.C. )
Rail Business Intelligence
Transit (Berkeley, Calif. )

(Top of the page)  

Truck Safety

This is an introduction to some of the resources that may be helpful in your research.  Wed be happy to assist you with additional materials available at the State Library.  Please call us at 860-757-6500 or e-mail us at isref@cslib.org

Subject heading searches
The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to truck safety, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Traffic safety
Traffic safety -- Connecticut
Truck driving -- Connecticut -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Trucking -- Connecticut
Trucking deregulation -- United States
Trucking law and legislation -- Connecticut
Trucking safety regulations -- United States

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Connecticut and federal maximum allowable truck weights [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro, 2002
Motor carrier handbook, 2004
Special "emergency management" training for truck drivers [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro, 2005
Truck safety [electronic resource] : Share the Road Safely program needs better evaluation of its initiatives
Truck weight and safety inspections [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro

Electronic Journals
Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, well be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on mass transit include :

Truck Fleet Management
Trucking Technology

(Top of the page)

Bradley International Airport and air transport

Subject heading searches
The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to Bradley International Airport and air transport, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Bradley International Airport (Windsor Locks, Conn.)
Airports -- Connecticut
Aeronautics -- Commercial
Aeronautics, Commercial -- Connecticut
Aircraft industry -- Connecticut

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library :

Airport shuttle services [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy, 2005
Bradley International Airport improvements : an economic impact analysis / Fred Carstensen analysis / Fred Carstensen, 2001
Federal requirements for a Part 150 Airport Noise Compatibility Study [electronic resource] by James J. Fazzalaro, 2002
Inappropriate comments at Bradley Airport [electronic resource] / by Peter Martino, 2003
Runway safety area requirements and Bradley Airport [electronic resource] / by Kevin E. McCarthy, 2005
Status of Bradley International Airport expansion project [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro, 2001
The new Bradley International Airport 2004/05 strategic plan summary / Bradley International, 2004
Tweed New Haven Airport [electronic resource] / by James J. Fazzalaro, 2002
Tweed-New Haven Airport : an economic impact analysis / by William F. Lott, Fred Carstensen, 2002

Electronic Journals
Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, well be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on Bradley International Airport and air transport include :

Air & Space Law
Air & Space Power Journal
Air Cargo World
Air Traffic Management
Air Transport World
AirCommerce
Aircraft Economics
Aircraft Maintenance Technology
Airline Business
Airline Industry Information
Airport B
usiness  
Airport Security
Airports International

(Top of the page)

Rail and maritime cargo transport

Subject heading searches
The State Library has extensive resources available in paper, microform and/or online formats.  For a listing of those resources related to rail and maritime cargo transport, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Coastwise shipping -- Long Island Sound (N.Y. and Conn.)
Connecticut. Dept of Transportation. Office of Intermodal Planning
Container ships
Containerization -- Connecticut -- Bridgeport
Harbors -- Connecticut
Port Districts -- Connecticut
Railroads -- Freight -- Connecticut
Railroads -- Freight -- New England
Waterways -- Long Island Sound (N.Y. and Conn.)

 

State of Connecticut Publications
Full text of these publications is available through the State Library

Moving trailers by barge in Long Island Sound [electronic resource] / Kevin E. McCarthy, 2002
Using barges to bypass I-95 [electronic resource] / by John Moran, 2000
Railroad regulation [electronic resource] : changes in freight railroad rates from 1997 through 2000, 2002
Basic characteristics of freight rail transportation in the United States, 1997 [electronic resource], 1997

Electronic Journals
Use your public or State Library card barcode to access http://www.iconn.org/ where you will find full text journal and newspaper articles.

The State Library subscribes to an extensive variety of electronic journals, which are only accessible through public computer terminals at the State Library. Our Electronic Journals page details the titles and available dates. When you visit the Library, well be glad to show you how to search the electronic journal collection by subject. Pertinent titles with information on rail and maritime cargo transport include :

Rail Business Intelligence
Railway Track and Structures
Shipping Digest
Intermodal Shipping
Journal of Transportation and Statistics
Lloyd's List and Shipping Gazette

(Top of the page) 

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 12/2008.