| RETURN TO:  CSL Research Resources   

Connecticut Government

Agencies | Branches of State Government | Budget | Capital Punishment | Commercial Recording | Connecticut Digital Archive | Courts | Elections | Governors | Grants | Laws and Legislation | Licenses, Registrations | Prescription Drugs | Procurement, Purchasing, Contracts | Public Records and Documents | Records Retention | Statistics | Taxes | Tours and Tourism | Towns and Municipalities | Who Represents You

General Resources

Firstsearch
Over 50 online databases and 1.5 million full-text articles. Includes PAIS, a database chronicling global public policy and social issues, and other sources useful for public policy research. 

Governing.com
A resource for information professionals dealing with public policy issues. Key features include news stories, statistics and web sites.

LexisNexisTM Congressional
Comprehensive United States legislative information, current and historical. Includes hearings, reports and documents on topics of concern to state and local government.

LexisNexisTM State Capital
For all 50 states, provides access to: state bills and laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, newspapers of record, articles about legislative issues affecting the states, legislature membership.

LexisNexisTM Statistical
Indexes and abstracts over 100,000 federal, state and private statistical sources.

National Conference of State Legislatures  Provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on key state issues.

State and Local Governments on the Net  Provides convenient access to the web sites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.

Stateline.org  Provides information about political activity in the 50 state capitals. Features stories reported and written by staff journalists, statistical data, and daily and weekly email newsletters.

Agencies

The State Library has posted brief state agency histories about each agency.

Branches of State Government

State government in Connecticut has three branches: Executive, Legislative, and Judicial.

Elected members of the Executive Branch are the: Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of the State, Treasurer, Comptroller and Attorney General. All are elected for four-year terms and may be reelected. An index to the Agencies and Offices within the Executive Branch is also available,.

The State Legislature or General Assembly consists of a 36 member Senate and a 151 member House of Representatives. Legislators are elected to both houses for two-year terms. Additional information can be found in the 2007 Legislative Guide.

The Judicial Branch is made up of the Superior, Appellate, Supreme, and Probate courts. Except for Probate judges, who are elected by the voters, all judges are nominated by the Governor and appointed by the General Assembly.

Budget

The Office of Fiscal Analysis offers a detailed explanation of the budget cycle, key players, and a glossary of terms. Current budget documents are also available from the Office of Policy and Management.

Earlier budget documents are available at the Connecticut State Library.

Call (860)757-6570, or check our catalog, CONSULS.

Capital Punishment

Information about Capital Punishment in Connecticut including state statutes, recent case law, the final report of the Death Penalty Commission and a selected chronology of the Michael Ross case.

Commercial Recording

Information about corporations in Connecticut is available at the Office of the Secretary of the State, Commercial Recording Division.

Implemented in 1994, CONCORD (Connecticut On-line Network Commercial Recording Database) is searchable online.

Connecticut Digital Archive

The State Library's Connecticut Digital Archive insures that Connecticut state publications issued only in electronic format will continue to be available, now and in the future.

Courts

Information and history on Connecticut's courts,

The State Library's comprehensive history and bibliography pages about the Judicial Dept.
A listing of Superior Court docket books (court calendars) arranged by county, mostly from the second half of the nineteenth century,
Memorials
and other speeches about Connecticut Judges and Attorneys.

Elections

Elections in Connecticut, a guide to information about the elections and voting.

Governors

This Pathfinder links to print and online resources about Connecticut's Governors, past and present.

Governor Meskill's Executive Orders Number Three and Seventeen, regarding equal opportunity in state contracts, as well as Governor Rowland's Executive Order Number Sixteen about violence in the workplace.

Copies of Executive Orders from all Gubernatorial administrations are available at the Connecticut State Library. Call 860-757-6570 for more information.

Grants

This Pathfinder leads to sources of grant money and information for and about the nonprofit community.

Laws and Legislation

Here you will find answers to some frequently asked questions about Connecticut law and legislation. Includes links to the General Statutes, Public and Special Acts and Indexes, conversion tables and more.

Licenses / Registrations

The Connecticut Licensing Information Center contains links for all your licensing and registration needs. Includes searchable access to 900+ licenses, permits and registrations administered by various agencies, as well as links to downloadable forms.

Prescription Drugs

Access the Attorney General's Prescription Page to compare the cost of the most commonly prescribed drugs at pharmacies statewide. Includes an interactive searchable database of pharmacies, towns and prescription drug prices.

Procurement /Purchasing / Contracts

State of Connecticut Department of Administrative Services Procurement/Purchasing web site for state agencies, municipalities and bidders. Contains searchable database of state contracts, information on set-aside programs, listing of de-barred contractors and much more.

The Governor's Task Force on State Contracting Reform is responsible for reviewing and recommending improvements to the procedures used by the state of Connecticut to purchase goods and services.

Public Records and Documents

Find information about the Office of the Public Records Administrator, as well as the State Archives, the State Records Center, and the Connecticut State Depository Library Program.

The State Library's Connecticut Digital Archive insures that Connecticut state publications issued only in electronic format will continue to be available, now and in the future.

Records Retention 

Records retention schedules for towns, municipalities and boards of education, as well as for state agencies.

Statistics

Census | Crime | EconomyEducation - Elementary and Secondary | Education - Higher | General | Health | Social Indicators

Taxes

The Department of Revenue Services oversees income tax collection and has available individual, business and electronic filing information.

In Connecticut, the collection of property taxes is the exclusive function of municipal government. The official responsible for this function is the local tax collector. Property taxes are based on the town Mill Rate. The Department of Motor Vehicles maintains an information page about vehicular property taxes.

Tours and Tourism

The latest Connecticut travel and tourism information is available in the 2008 Connecticut Vacation Guide.

Tours of the State Library for groups are available upon request. Please contact Lynne Newell, Division of Information Services at (860) 757-6565. Tours for the Museum of Connecticut History and the State Capitol are coordinated by the League of Women Voters of Connecticut (860) 240-0222.

Towns and Municipalities

A key guide is the Local Government section of the Connecticut State Register and Manual. Officers and statistics, grand lists, tax rates, town associations, historical census information, and Post Offices are available.

Detailed town data can be found in Connecticut Town Profiles, a compilation of statistics describing the state's 169 towns. The latest town-level statistics are presented by subject area and include demographics, economics, education, housing, labor force, government, and quality of life.

Individual municipality web sites are also available for many of the towns and cities in Connecticut, and contain links to a variety of local government information resources.

The State Library's Office of the Public Records Administrator maintains applications and guidelines to the Historic Document Preservation Grant Program, which assists towns in preserving their local records.

List of Municipal Historians.

Who Represents You:

United States

Connecticut has two Senators and , as a result of the 2000 Census, five members in the House of Representatives. Your Connecticut Congressional Delegation.

State

The Connecticut State Senate has 36 members. If you don't know your Senator's name, use the district map. If you do, use the alphabetical list of members.

The Connecticut State House of Representatives has 151 members. If you don't know your Representative's name, use the district map. If you do, use the alphabetical list of members.

Town

Your Town Officials from the State Register and Manual, published by the Secretary of State's Office.

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit,  page revised 4/2008.