Connecticut State Library with state seal
| RETURN TO:  CSL Research Resources

Public Policy

New Resources at CSL   |   Connecticut State Agency Profiles

The Connecticut State Library maintains an extensive collection of material relating to all aspects of public policy. You will find many books and journals pertinent to your research in our catalog, but we also maintain extensive indexes, databases, and electronic journals collections. Please contact us at 860-757-6500 or email isref@cslib.org and we’d be glad to assist you with your research.

Aging

Children

Crime

Property Tax Relief
Medicare Prescription Drug Benefit

Childhood Obesity
Children’s Health
Foster Care
Husky
Social Indicators

Capital Punishment
Corrections
Crime Statistics
Criminal Justice Digital Library
Drunk Driving
Juvenile Justice

Education

Elections

Eminent Domain

Magnet Schools
School Finance

 

 


Elections in Connecticut, 2008

Eminent Domain

Energy

Environment

Ethics in Government

Alternative Fuels
Costs and Efficiency
Tax Holiday

Air Quality | Water Quality
Hazardous Waste
Wilderness Preservation
Wildlife Management
Long Island Sound

Ethics in Government

Public Finance

Grants

Health

Taxation in Connecticut
School Finance
Budget Issues

Grants

Children's Health
Prescription Drugs
Sick Buildings
 

 

 

Housing

Law & Legislation

Transportation

Housing

Law & Legislation

Highway Congestion
I-95 and Merritt Parkway
Mass Transit
Truck Safety  Air Transport
Cargo Transport

State Library Resources

For a listing of general resources related to public policy, search our online catalog using the following subjects :

Public Administration
Political Planning

For resources that focus on specific public policy areas, add topical terms to your subject search, for example health planning or educational planning.
 

These publications are a sampling of those available in paper and/or microform format at the State Library :

In Pursuit of Performance : Management Systems in State and Local Government, ed. by Patricia W. Ingraham, 2007.  [CSL Call Number JK468.P75 I57 2007] 
Table of Contents available online.

 

Many Voices : An Introduction to Social Issues, ed. by Herbert W. Helm, Jr. and Duane C. McBride, 2007.  [CSL Call Number HM586 .M36 2007] 
Table of Contents available online.

 

Public Personnel Administration and Labor Relations, ed. by Norma M. Riccucci, 2007.  [CSL Call Number JF1351 .P838 2007]  Table of Contents available online.

 

The Oxford Handbook of Public Policy, ed. by Michael Moran, Martin Rein and Robert E. Goodin, 2006.  [CSL Call Number GIRS Reference H97 .O88 2006]
Table of Contents available online.

 

Public Administration's Final Exam : a Pragmatist Restructuring of the Profession and the Discipline, by Michael M. Harmon, 2006.  [CSL Call Number JK421 .H295 2006]
Table of Contents available online.

 

Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration, by Jay M. Shafritz, 2004.  [CSL Call Number GIRS Reference H97.S483 2004]  Table of Contents available online.

 

Women and Public Policy : A Revolution in Progress, by M. Margaret Conway, David W. Ahern and Gertrude A. Steuernagel, 2004.  [CSL Call Number HQ 236.5.U6 C66 2004]
Table of Contents available online.

 

General Databases

Some databases are made available through paid subscriptions or licenses and can be accessed only at the State Library.  Databases available at the State Library that may address public policy concerns include :

FirstSearch.  Available at the State Library. 
Over 50 online databases and 1.5 million full-text articles.

LexisNexis™ Congressional.  Available at the State Library. 
Comprehensive United States legislative information, current and historical.

LexisNexis™ Government Periodicals Index.  Available at the State Library.
Provides detailed subject and author indexing to approximately 170 magazines and newsletters published by the U.S. Government. Subjects range from scientific research projects in Antarctica to zoology; from agriculture to the latest in cancer research.

LexisNexis™ State Capital.  Available at the State Library.
For all 50 states, provides access to: state bills and laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted regulations, newspapers of record, articles about legislative issues affecting the states, legislature membership.

LexisNexis™ Statistical.  Available at the State Library
Indexes and abstracts over 100,000 federal, state and private statistical sources.

 

Related agencies/organizations

Center for Policy Alternatives  Provides background information on progressive policy issues. Includes information on important state issues and leaders.


Governing.com  A resource for information professionals dealing with public policy issues.  Key features include news stories, statistics and web sites.  See State & Local Sourcebook for Connecticut statistics on a variety of topics including economic development, finance and management. 


National Conference of State Legislatures Provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on key state issues.

 

State and Local Governments on the Net  Provides convenient access to the web sites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments.


Stateline.org  Provides information about political activity in the 50 state capitals. Features stories reported and written by staff journalists, statistical data, and daily and weekly email newsletters.

PolicyArchive, a digital archive of global, non-partisan policy research.  View reports and studies related to Connecticut on topics that include health, education, finance and more.

 

(Top of the page)

Prepared by the Government Information and Reference Services Unit, page revised 4/2009.